Posted in Desert Life, Growing up/old, Lessons Learned

Things I learned from 8-year-old boys on Thursday morning

“I need a peachy color,” he says.

“You can make peach if you pencil really lightly with pink and orange,” I answer.  And it occurs to me that somewhere along the line I learned about mixing colors, but he hasn’t yet.  How many millions of things do we take for granted now, so much so that we can’t remember a time when we didn’t know them?

“Will it be dark enough?” he says.

“It will be once you put the second layer of color on it,” I say.

“Hey! That works!” he says, and I feel so proud, as if I’ve explained cold fusion to him.

***

The longest half hour of your life could be sitting side-by-side with an 8-year-old boy who has recently learned to burp at will.  The longest and the grossest. Oh, he claims it’s his breakfast disagreeing with him, but I inform him that I, too, was once 8 years old, and I know the difference between an involuntary eruption and a forced one.  It’s a skill I once possessed, truth be told, but like many skills, you gotta use it or lose it.  (I think I’d be pretty disappointed in myself if I had kept it up.)

Also, apparently it’s cool to only excuse yourself once every 5 burps, and then only when your reading tutor gives you the stinkeye and clears her throat pointedly.

***

According to my source, the time before there were dinosaurs was the time of dragons.

dinosaurs_vs__dragons__by_jonjassgraphics-d566szp

***

According to that same source, time travel is not only possible, but feasible.  He’s pretty sure a person can build a time machine.

***

You can’t start sentences with “And.”  And while that’s not actually true, I was simultaneously surprised and not that that old chestnut is still being passed on to children.  I debated explaining it, but I figured my second-grader wasn’t really up for a discussion of linguistic history and habit, and my second-grader’s teacher would not appreciate my meddling in the boundaries that are probably more useful than harmful for a beginning writer.

***

There is little that compares to receiving an entirely unexpected hug from a little boy whom you didn’t think you were reaching at all and who has seemed indifferent to the entire venture you’re engaged in.

Author:

I've been doing some form of creative writing since 9th grade, and have been a blogger since 2003. Like most bloggers, I've quit blogging multiple times. But the words always come back, asking to be written down, and they pester me if I don't. So here we are. Thanks for reading.

Your thoughts?

