Posted in Memory Lane

7 years

Antiguo 1951-2006
Antiguo 1951-2006

Every year, I post his picture, because he deserves to be remembered.  I post it here because he was one of my biggest fans.  He told me more than once I was his favorite writer, and that meant a lot to me, because he was one of the smartest, and most well read, people it’s ever been my pleasure to know.  He died 7 years ago today; one of the last things he did was to read my blog; I saw the timestamp.  I miss you, Craig, and if I write a thousand words every day for the rest of my life, I still won’t be able to adequately explain how much.

But that doesn’t mean I haven’t tried.  I wrote this song over a year-and-a-half ago, but it’s making its public debut just today; seems right.  If you’d like to hear it as well as read it, click the title.

Auld Lang Syne

On a cold winter night of distant memory,
the past becomes more poignant,
the common sweet.
And I miss you like I’ve never missed anyone.
The tears come as I fail to fall asleep.

It’s New Year’s, baby
but old years are on my mind. It’s a
new year, baby, but
I’m forever singing “Auld Lang Syne.”

I know, I know…all we ever have is now,
I’m sorry that I had to learn it’s true,
Past and present, tonight they feel the same to me;
just no future to be had for me and you.

It’s New Year’s, baby
but old years are on my mind. It’s a
new year, baby, but
I’m forever singing “Auld Lang Syne.”

I live here in the present, doing what I have to do,
though I carry our time with me like a ghost;
but tonight I can’t hold it all together; ’cause it’s
the sweetest memories that hurt the most

I can’t make it all turn out differently,
can’t change a thing, even though I would,
and I hope you’re out there somewhere thinking of me,
thinking that you’d call me if you could

Saying it’s New Year’s, baby
but old years are on my mind. It’s a
new year, baby, but
I’m forever singing
Oh I’m forever singing “Auld Lang Syne.”

On a cold winter night of close-held memory,
my mind scolds my heart for coming here again,
but I really can’t be blamed;
it was all so beautiful back then.

Author:

I've been doing some form of creative writing since 9th grade, and have been a blogger since 2003. Like most bloggers, I've quit blogging multiple times. But the words always come back, asking to be written down, and they pester me if I don't. So here we are. Thanks for reading.

3 thoughts on “7 years

Your thoughts?

