Posted in Creations

Studio KC is open for business

I really had no intention of redoing my office when I retired and starting putting together a project list, but my leaky humidifier and the carpet it ruined forced me to add it to the list. And as I ripped out the carpet that had a hole in the middle of it thanks to Athena and Rocky (hidden by a multicolored area rug), and looked around at the walls, I realized it was all kind of tired anyway. I’d had the same four colors on the walls at our last house, so basically, it’d been the same eclectic, vaguely Mexican, scheme for 13 years. I decided to use the opportunity to make a big change, and to rearrange the room to be a more functional music space.

I’d already decided that I wasn’t dealing with anymore room humidifiers, and wanted a guitar cabinet, so I could just humidify the cabinet. Custom-made, these cabinets go for anywhere from several to many thousand dollars, neither of which I have. I found a decent possibility at IKEA, but we hadn’t made time to go up to Phoenix to get it. I ended up finding an old TV armoire at a second-hand store here in town that, when you figure in gas and all the impulse buys at IKEA, worked out to cost about the same, and was actually bigger.

When I bought it, it looked like this:
DSCN1019 DSCN1018

The back was a flimsy 1/8”, so I replaced that with 1/2” plywood to hold the guitar hangers that were on my wall, and then I painted it. When it was done, it looked like this:
DSCN1043DSCN1044

I painted it with the colors that the existing curio had so I would have some coordination in my hodge-podge of furniture.

Here’s the room before (minus the carpet, which I’d already pulled out before I remembered to take pictures):
DSCN0954
DSCN0544
DSCN0951
DSCN0952
DSCN0953

I had planned to put checkboard black and white vinyl tiles in the room, but the order arrived defective (I’m still the middle of a dispute about that…don’t get me started) and I didn’t realize it until 6 weeks later, when I finally opened the boxes the morning my dad came to help me install it. An hour later, having been to Lowe’s, then Home Depot, then back to Lowe’s, I had an alternative tile that I like a lot better.  Besides the new flooring, I painted the walls a peacock blue, painted the drawers on the little side table next to my chair, bought the keyhole wall hanging and new curtains for the closet, and painted my non-black frames black so they’d all match, but otherwise, everything else in the room was just rearranged for greater functionality and novelty, too. My mom always moved furniture around when I was growing up, and I started, too. It’s a nice way to have a “new” room when you don’t want to spend any money. I’ve got one more picture to hang (the one hiding behind the curio cabinet), and then it will be totally done, but it’s close enough to show off. I like it—it’s still me, but the overall look I think is more unified, and classed up a bit.

Here’s the after:
DSCN1126
DSCN1171
DSCN1172
DSCN1173
DSCN1174
DSCN1177
DSCN1178
Secondhand TV armoire upcycled to guitar cabinet
Inside of new guitar cabinet
DSCN1181
DSCN1183

And with that, I am officially announcing the end of 2012 major projects; it’s already too hot to work that hard, and I’ve got bon-bons to eat, dammit!

Author:

I've been doing some form of creative writing since 9th grade, and have been a blogger since 2003. Like most bloggers, I've quit blogging multiple times. But the words always come back, asking to be written down, and they pester me if I don't. So here we are. Thanks for reading.

8 thoughts on “Studio KC is open for business

  1. You know I love you madly, but I could never live with you. All those … COLORS! They make my head spin. Where’s the dove grey, the sand beige, the plain old white, for God’s sake???

    But it does look great and it does suit YOU!

    1. What? This is subdued compared to what it was. 🙂 Obviously, you didn’t notice the white baseboards. It has been my continuing mission to eradicate the half-dozen shades of beige in this house, and the last. Beige has no place in my home.

  2. The room is spectacular. The axes look great in their new, humidified home. Daisy looks like she’s walking on water (or at least like she THINKS she’s walking on water). I do love that blue!
    Now….go EAT A BON BON.

    1. Thank you, I’m really happy with how it turned out. All the dogs were a bit wary of the high gloss floor at first, but they don’t seem bothered now.

    1. Thanks, Boni. 🙂 I ended up having to seal the inside and put in some weather stripping to keep the humidity in, but now it’s settled at a perfect 45%. Yay!

Your thoughts?

