Posted in Creations, Lessons Learned

Owie

So last Friday, when I wasn’t blogging, because I’d been working on the bathroom all week when I wasn’t lying around vegetating after working on the bathroom all week, I slapped large quantities of thin-set cement on my bathroom floor and installed my pebble tile.  Pebble tile, which is so interesting and beautiful, is, as it turns out, far more difficult to work with at every stage than plain old tile in regular quadrilaterals.  There I was, fetching in my blue rubber gloves that went nearly to the elbow and an outfit that could only be described as fell-into-the-Goodwill-bin chic, when I noticed my left hand getting slightly tingly.  I decided that my gloves were perhaps a bit too snug, but I wasn’t going to be at this more than a couple hours, and I could deal.

About an hour into it, however, the tingling became a buzzing, and I began to worry for my circulation, so I took the glove off and waited for the life to return to my hand.  I waited, and waited and waited.

Here we are a week later, and I still have tingly fingers, despite 3 chiropractor visits (one the same day as this all went down) and 2 massage treatments, not to mention loads of ice.  As far as I can tell, it was never the glove at all.  It was having my hand at a 90° angle to my wrist and putting the bulk of my weight on it for an hour (a known no-no for me due to years of grocery checking that ruined my wrists) as I cemented with my right hand.  1 hour of bad ergonomics=1 week of weird tingling and loss of hand strength for the Kristie girl.  Frankly, it’s getting a little scary.  I have a vague sense that today’s effort at the chiropractor may yield better results than I’ve had thus far, but only time will tell.  In the meantime, I’ve spent a lot of time dropping things, wearing pullover sports bras because I can’t manage the hook-and-eye closures of the regular ones, and not playing my guitar.  It ain’t good.

On the plus side, my back is doing well. :p  Irony:  I lives it.

Author:

I've been doing some form of creative writing since 9th grade, and have been a blogger since 2003. Like most bloggers, I've quit blogging multiple times. But the words always come back, asking to be written down, and they pester me if I don't. So here we are. Thanks for reading.

6 thoughts on “Owie

  1. Jeepers, woman. Can you not catch a break?

    Obviously not, because if one were thrown to you right now, it would fall through your helpless hands!

    1. I cannot. I’ve said pretty much my whole life that my body is not my friend; most of the time, it’s barely civil to me. And while I’m growing noticeably stronger since I gave up my sedentary job, other parts of me are not with the program.

  2. Owie, indeed! That totally sucks, and I’m sorry to hear your body is being cranky again!

    Sounds similar to my experiences with entering photography fuller time over the last year or two, though. My neck first started killing me from the hours spent on my laptop, on my couch, while editing my friends’ wedding photos 18 months ago, and then it was my wrists after I moved to the kitchen counter once I opened the biz. Eventually I had to suck it up, buy a keyboard and mouse, and move to my never-used-as-a-computer-desk desk/printer cabinet to save myself from carpal tunnel and God knows what else. I was both irked by and grateful for the stupid office ergonomics classes we were required to take at Intel–irked because it finally caught up to me…but at least I knew how to address it. Stupid, unhappy body!

    But did you finish the tile first?? Or do you have to call in reinforcements to finish it? Pics, please, when it’s done!! =)

    Hope the tingling goes away and full mobility returns fast!

    1. The tile is finished as of my completing the sealing at 1 o’clock today. Once it’s dry, I can put the toilet back in, and with any luck at all, we’ll be back to using that bathroom tomorrow. FINALLY. Pictures in this space Friday, I hope…I’m waiting on some replacement knobs for the dresser I ordered on eBay yesterday that will just finish the whole thing. Scott did the grouting on the tile for me last week; my body had given up, but I’ve done the rest since.

Your thoughts?

