Posted in Commentary, Creations, Desert Life

What are you going to do all day?

When people find out you’re quitting your job, they ask you what you’re going to next. When they find out you’re going to stay home, the first thing they seem to ask (in my recent experience) is, “Aren’t you going to be bored?”

This question always tells me that the speaker overestimates by a magnitude of many thousands the intellectual and spiritual stimulation provided by the average desk job; it also tells me they probably don’t have many hobbies, if they can’t imagine what a person would do all day at home; and they probably don’t know me very well. Frankly, I have been so busy since I retired, that I’ve had to force myself to learn where to stop in the evening, or on weekends, and I sleep the righteous sleep brought on by real physical labor every night these days; I get up at 7:15 to take the dogs out, give them their pills, and make’s Scott’s lunch, and I start yawning around 8:30-9.  I’m superbusy, and it’s good.  I feel so much better, my house looks better, and projects that have been sitting, neglected, for years are getting done.

So what have I been doing with myself these days?

Well, there’s the cooking, and the cleaning, and the laundry.

2.6.12:  Dinner
Black Bean and Corn Chicken Enchilada Casserole
2.5.12:  10 AM
How 2 people generate so much laundry, I'll never know.

And then there’s the making of the bed three times a day, after the dogs mess it up…again.  I will make it twice, and straighten it thrice more.  After that, I give up, or I lock the dogs out of the bedroom.

This bed had been made perfectly the last I walked into the room. Somehow (Daisy) someone (Daisy) dug up the blankets.

There’s the yard clean-up–mostly hula hoeing the weeds that sprouted up with the winter rains, and what constitutes gardening for this black-thumbed gal.
Courtyard, after hula-hoeing rearranging

California Golden Poppies
Transferring misplaced poppies into pots
Ripe strawberry...in February

I’m doing crafts.
Girl Scout Merit Badges turned art
The Lack transformation in progress
Daisy is curious about the new table.

I’m mending, sprucing up, and decorating.
I mended this vinyl ottoman for use outdoors.
The table formerly known as beige
Back patio set.
Wall art
BeforeAfter, in its place

And sewing! I made this lunchbag for Scott (none of the ones they sell at Target were adequately butch). It is not a brilliant work of sewing, but it does the job.
Lunch sack sewn for Scott.

I’m working on music and writing songs.
2.2.12:  Words

Oh, and did I mention that I’m gutting my shower and redoing the master bath? The shower is first, because it was damaged and that needs to be fixed; paint and new tile on the floor will follow.
DSCN0739
Bathroom Demo:  End of Day 2
Bathroom Demo:  End of Day 3

So I am a chef, maid, contractor, interior decorator, personal shopper and errand runner, business manager, gardener, seamstress, laundress, musician, dog butler, researcher, and general handywoman and laborer.  I’ve got major redecorating plans for the living room and my office, once I’ve finished (and recovered from) the bathroom project, plus I want to make a raised planting bed in the back yard.  Come March, I’ll start doing a couple months’ contract work for my old company, too, an annual project that I’ve done for years and no one else really knows how (or wants) to do.

Bored?  Not a chance.

Author:

I've been doing some form of creative writing since 9th grade, and have been a blogger since 2003. Like most bloggers, I've quit blogging multiple times. But the words always come back, asking to be written down, and they pester me if I don't. So here we are. Thanks for reading.

6 thoughts on “What are you going to do all day?

  1. i need to do the same to my shower, but i do not have a back up. im going to have to wait until i dont have to go anywhere for a few days while i tear it up and put it back. because im sure i’ll be a big ball of stink by the time that all goes down.

    1. You can always shower at school. Or get yourself a sprinkler for the yard. 🙂 My brother is coming over tomorrow to help me with the plumbing–replacing the shower valve, and all new hardware, as mine as the original c. 1980 crap. I’m going to learn to solder pipes!

  2. God I so jealous Kristie lol. I would love, love, LOVE to be able to do what you do. In the normal busy 9-5 world, who has time for hobbies and home improvement? I’m glad you have the opportunity to do this.

  3. We need a revolution in the whole concept of work, but I don’t see it happening in my lifetime. This USED to be the work we did for ourselves; people only worked for enough money to get by, if they worked for money at all; often, people traded and bartered. I “bought” the painting over my bed with a couple afternoon’s of computer lessons for the artist. My brother told me he just recently bartered art for haircuts. Now, cash is the focus, and you’re some kind of weirdo if it isn’t yours. I know am exceedingly lucky to have this opportunity; there are plenty of people in as much pain as I have been in who should, but don’t, have an option but to keep going back to the work that is crippling them. I’d just as soon not be a physical wreck, but I’m going to make the most of my opportunity now that it’s here.

Your thoughts?

