Posted in Creations

I write the songs that make the whole world sing

Okay, maybe I don’t.  I’d like to, but I am realistic enough to recognize that that’s probably improbable.  (Barry Manilow was kind of cocky in writing that song wasn’t he?  Then again, he DID write the songs that make the whole world sing.  Her name was Lola, she was a show girl, with yellow feathers in her hair, and her dress cut down to there… I fucking love Barry Manilow.  There, I said it.)

Anywhoo, I am pleased to report that 2 weeks after this post, I have completed two songs, lyrics and music, including the one y’all helped me with (although I suspect it may be tweaked just a bit yet before all is said and done…not too sure about the bridge I put into it).  This is an increase of 200% over last year’s total song production, and we’re still in January.  Thus, I have set myself a goal of writing 2 songs a month this year, since clearly it can be done when I’m not being (completely) lazy and avoidant (because in truth I have still been somewhat lazy and avoidant).  If I could write 2 songs a month, I would be pretty damn impressed with myself, while simultaneously berating myself, because if I could write 2 dozen songs this year, I could’ve done it lo these many years, and what a pathetic waste that I did not, ultimately ending up comforting my sad, savaged self with copious amounts of chocolate almond fudge ice cream which, second only to peppermint bonbon (or mint chip, if you will), is my favorite ice cream, in case you were wondering what to get me for my birthday.

I’m feeling a bit giddy and accomplished, because I’ve been a slacker so long on this, to finally have produced something is nothing short of miraculous.  This is also the reason this week’s post is exceedingly brief (for me), as I could not see writing a big ol’ post when I had songs that needed finishing.  Demos for these songs are not currently available because a) I finished writing them literally moments before I started this post, and b) this cold I’ve had for a full week now has killed my voice, and any such demo recorded now would sully this songbird’s reputation for eternity.  But soon, my little cabbages, soon.

Did I mention giddy?

What are you up to creatively these days?

I've been finding excuses. But it IS important to me; I printed this and put it on my music stand.

Author:

I've been doing some form of creative writing since 9th grade, and have been a blogger since 2003. Like most bloggers, I've quit blogging multiple times. But the words always come back, asking to be written down, and they pester me if I don't. So here we are. Thanks for reading.

10 thoughts on “I write the songs that make the whole world sing

  1. Hey, just so you know…loving Barry Manilow is fine with me. I do too, and I got to see him live about 5 years ago in Las Vegas. We should get together one of these fine days and sing it up! 🙂 Hi to you, Scott and your mom and dad!!!
    Love,
    Lor

  2. Go YOU! You KNOW what I’ve been up to……lazy and avoidant on finishing my kit guitar. For some reason, I just don’t feel the love on this one, and am really finishing it in self defense; so I don’t have to continue to look at it in pieces, and so I can move on to a “real” build that is from scratch. Ugh!

Your thoughts?

