Posted in Creations

Live nude music

The search for a new band name goes on (and if you haven’t put in your two cents at Facebook yet, please check the post below this one; comments are open and operators are standing by) as we continue in our efforts to put together an hour set of music.  We’ve got six songs performance-ready, and we’re working on “The Chauffeur,” by Duran Duran, the video for which I didn’t see until I was 33 years old and it was shown on the Jumbotron behind the band at their concert in San Jose in 2005, because it’d been banned from MTV (back when MTV still showed videos); that is to say, it’s probably NSFW.  We’re also working on “Story in Your Eyes” by the Moody Blues, which will take a bit more work on my part since Ryan and I basically started over with a new strum on Monday night.  Recently added to the rehearsal list is “Under the Milky Way” by The Church.  And we’re working on the one below, my latest original.  I wrote it for Scott…three times.  It took 3 revisions to get it right; I know when I don’t want to practice a song I’ve written, that means it’s lame and deep down I’m not happy with it.  So I kept going back at it until that changed.

If you click on the title, you can hear a quick-and-dirty recording of it; the muttering at the front end is the result of my having played the song and, reaching over to press the “stop” button on the recorder, discovering that I never started recording it in the first place, and instead started it at that moment.  So I had to do it again, and I couldn’t be arsed to edit the mp3.  Look at it as being live in the studio while the artist creates (and screws up).  Can you feel the magic?  The glamour?

My Compass Is You—K. Cunningham

You had always been a local boy
And I was still the new girl
We met, we danced and, soon enough,
You became my whole world.

You were happy in your hometown
I had a tendency to roam;
you fell for a nomad, and
in you I found my home.

You’re the roots from which I wander
You’re the home I come back to   Pause
and when I’m lost, with no direction,
my compass is you.
My compass is you.

I took you further from home
than you had ever meant to be,
from the prairie to the frozen north
in love, you followed me.

Our road together
led us to the desert west;
settled in our happy home,
yet still I cannot rest.

You’re the roots from which I wander
You’re the home I come back to   Pause
and when I’m lost, with no direction,
my compass is you.
My compass is you.

You are my anchor in the storm
You are my star that shines
You are the hand that steadies me
I’m grateful that you’re mine.

On dark and lonesome nights
when I’ve drifted off the track,
you’re the love that I can see,
the light that guides me back

I may wander far afield,
may disappear from view,
don’t worry, I won’t be long,
my home, my heart, is you.

You’re the roots from which I wander
You’re the home I come back to   Pause
and when I’m lost, with no direction,
my compass is you.
My compass is you.

© Kristie Cunningham, 2011

Author:

I've been doing some form of creative writing since 9th grade, and have been a blogger since 2003. Like most bloggers, I've quit blogging multiple times. But the words always come back, asking to be written down, and they pester me if I don't. So here we are. Thanks for reading.