Posted in Commentary

I can quit anytime

I have a bit of a problem when it comes to books.  I can’t stop buying them.  Every now and again, I place a moratorium on new books until I’ve read what I’ve got piled up, but it never lasts.  Amazon is just too easy, especially when I can get used books on the cheap.

This is my current “to be read” pile, which actually is a stack on my dresser and on my bookshelf. The dresser pile is all new acquisitions; some of the ones on the shelf go back…oh…several years, because they keep getting bumped by new purchases.  I’ve read the two Laurie King books since I made the image, but received another book (just a little one!) in the mail yesterday.

In my "to read" pile

So, what are you reading these days?

Author:

I've been doing some form of creative writing since 9th grade, and have been a blogger since 2003. Like most bloggers, I've quit blogging multiple times. But the words always come back, asking to be written down, and they pester me if I don't. So here we are. Thanks for reading.

2 thoughts on “I can quit anytime

  1. I am reading (embarassingly enough) a romance right now, and just found 2 books for $1.99 each at Goodwill….Patricia Cornwall’s “Scarpetta” and Kathy Reich’s “Grave Secrets”. They’ll take me a while to read because they are dark crime novels. While I love to scare myself with these, I can’t read them right before bed. That reading is either about guitar building, guitar playing, or sappy romance. That’s why I wake myself up laughing and not screaming!

  2. Your ‘to-be-read’ pile is so much smaller than mine. 🙂 Right now, I have about 150 books in the queue. I live in eternal fear that I won’t have the right book available when I want it. My preorder list on Amazon is legendary, as are (yes, as in multiple) my Wishlists.
    You can never, ever have too many books.

Your thoughts?

