Posted in Commentary, Creations, Growing up/old

My god, it’s full of stars

Is it just me, or does anybody else want to sing “Also Sprach Zarathustra” every time someone mentions 2010?  Because I do.  Every time.  Scott is already tired of me doing the BOM-bom-BOM-bom of the timpani, and the year hasn’t even started.

He used to be fun.

You may ask yourself (because people often do), “How does a hip, swingin’, groovy couple like the Cunninghams spend their New Year’s Eve?”  Well, let me tell you, it involves a level of coolness you may only hope to aspire to in this lifetime, and approach in the next.  First of all, we hit the salad buffet even before the early birds arrived to slurp all-you-can-eat soup (and salad, natch) and complain that they were out of spinach.  Then we stopped by Target to pick up a coffeemaker, which was followed by some suggestive flirting, and then the joint admission that we were still both too sick to engage in any of the traditional NYE marital frolicking, so we were both just big teases.  Upon arriving home, then, we snuggled in for some cuddling and a John Cusack (my next husband) film of the romantic comedy persuasion, enjoying vicarious romance for the evening.

You may ask yourself, “Will the rollicking good times ever cease???”  No, they will not.  When the movie ended, we decided that the best possible thing for us to do at 10 o’clock on New Year’s Eve would be to give the puppies baths in the kitchen sink (like ya do), which resulted in the added task of mopping the kitchen floor due to errant waterworks and runaway Shih Tzus.  The baths were not exactly on our groovy, hip agenda for the evening, but when, with a remaining 15 minutes in the movie, Athena decided it was an ideal time to express her anal glands as she stood exactly at (my) head level on the leather couch, and though I have not actually smelled anything for the last 11 days, I could smell that, it became clear we had little (read:  no) choice.  So…baths!  Rocky got a bath just because he needed one, and parity must be upheld.  Monte stood by watching, enjoying the schadenfreude.

Anyway, it’s a big year already.  As of Saturday, my folks will come rolling into town, where my mom will move into her apartment and start her new job on Monday.  It’s been fun shopping for stuff for her; kind of like playing house with someone else’s house.  It was my job to find her an apartment, and find one I did—she now has a 30-second commute to work, if she chooses to drive.  If she walks, it’ll be 5 minutes.  My dad will head home, to return here once their house sells, so everybody keep their fingers crossed, wouldja?  This all kind of happened unexpectedly over their Thanksgiving visit.  Seeing the sunshine for 7 days straight in November did a number on them, I think, and after giving the Northland a chance for 60 years, they decided they’d had enough.  Can’t say I blame them.  Once it drops below 50, I commence with the complaining.  Winter, real winter, sucks, Raymond.

I have actually made some new year’s resolutions for 2010 (baaaa-baaaaa-baaaaaaaaaaaaa-BAA-BOM-BOM-bom-BOM-bom-BOM), which is a little unusual for me.  I don’t think I’ve made any resolutions for at least a decade, but I felt moved to do so this year.  Here they are, in no particular order:

1.  Become a better guitar player by actually using my DVD lessons.

I spent a fair chunk of change on a full DVD guitar course 3 years ago, after my own beloved guitar guru died.  It was kind of a panicked knee-jerk reaction at the time, but it was something I just had to do.  I promised myself I’d do the lessons faithfully starting 1/1/07.  And I did the first lesson on 1/1/07…and never did another one.  That was largely due to my own impatience; I really wanted to play songs, not practice isolated skills.  However, at this point, I have mastered the basic guitar skills I started with, and my lack of further skills is really starting to chafe.  There are songs I want to sing that require a more interesting, more advanced guitar ability to do them justice, and I don’t have it.  But I’m unwilling to do a lame version of them.  So better I must get.

2.  Take more photos

I carry my camera everywhere, but haven’t taken many photos this year.  I like to have pictures of family and friends, and I like to take landscape shots, as well.  I decided to make up a 2010 (baaaa-baaaaa-baaaaaaaaaaaaa-BAA-BOM-BOM-bom-BOM-bom-BOM) calendar using my own photos, and I was hard-pressed to find 12 scenic photos to use; that’s rarely been the case in past years.  At the same time, I don’t like to be so involved with taking pictures that I miss taking part in the moment I’m photographing.  So I guess I need to just make opportunities to do it.  Flickr misses me, I’m sure, and I miss it.

3.  Do my PT exercises more faithfully

I finished a several-month course of physical therapy this week.  It’s helped in some ways, but it hasn’t really touched the issues in my right hip, which is a painful fubar disaster.  I do think a couple of the exercises have the potential to make a difference, but by the time I was done with this course of PT, they’d given me dozens of exercises, and I couldn’t keep up with, or even remember, all of them.  The fact that they weren’t really helping also frustrated any desire I might’ve had to keep at it.  But I think if I narrow it down to those I know address the hip area in specific, I might get somewhere.  I’m also considering something called prolotherapy, suggested by my physical therapist, who agrees that my problem is mechanical.  Personally, I think I have some version of hypermobility syndrome; it would explain a lot.  I still want to get back to yoga and walking in the neighborhood, and I haven’t given up hope yet that I will.  Physically, 2009 has been a tough year.  I’m hoping for better things in 2010.  (baaaa-baaaaaaa-baaaaaaaaaaaaa…)

4.  Make a decision about the Folk Festival

This one is going to have to happen sooner rather than later.  The Tucson Folk Festival is taking applications for performers, and the deadline is February 15th.  It’s a big 2-day local festival, and if I were to get a gig, the potential audience could be bigger than any I’ve ever played for.  Assuming I was selected to play (which is a bigger damn “if” than you might think), the pressure of that terrifies me more than a little, but I’m not convinced that’s reason enough not to do it, or at least make the attempt.  But I know me, and while I’m always excited about a gig when I accept it, I get nervous the week or 2 before, and then I get balky about rehearsing, and it’s this whole little psychotic avoidance game I play with myself.  It’s highly annoying, and yet I seem to do it every damn time.  I suppose it’s a deep-seated fear of biffing in front of witnesses.  When a gig goes well, it feels great; better than great.  When it doesn’t, you wonder why you ever thought you should pick up a guitar and start looking for the nearest rock to crawl under.  So it’s that tension that forms the knot in my stomach.  I’m not a great guitar player (see #1), and that may be a big strike against me being chosen compared to those I’ve heard play at previous festivals, but I’ve got one of the better voices I’ve heard at various open mics and gigs around town working in my favor.  It could be good.  Or not so much.  Therefore, I dither.

5.  Kidnap this cotton-top tamarin from the Boise Zoo.

Just look at this little girl.  Is she not the most ridiculously cute critter you’ve ever seen? I have always wanted a monkey, but I daresay this little tamarin would be even better.

My note from the universe today (yes, the universe e-mails me) had the following to say:  “I’ve got a feeling, Kristie, that 2010 is going to be your kind of year. That you’ll be happier than you’ve ever been, laughing harder, smiling wider, standing taller, walking lighter, dancing crazier, hugging longer, living grander, loving louder, and if you want, selling the pictures to a tabloid to raise money for your new charity.”

I’m really hoping that’s the case, for me and for you.  Happy new year!



Author:

I've been doing some form of creative writing since 9th grade, and have been a blogger since 2003. Like most bloggers, I've quit blogging multiple times. But the words always come back, asking to be written down, and they pester me if I don't. So here we are. Thanks for reading.

5 thoughts on “My god, it’s full of stars

  1. Your New Year’s Eve sounds just like ours, sans the puppy bathing project. Dub has a cold so we opted out on partying (as though we could actually stay up that late). He did wake me at midnight to kiss me and we told each other how much we love each other and then I promptly turned over and went back to sleep. Ever so romantic.

    Your goal list is very interesting and even exciting. Do let me know about the festival as I’d love to attend as your fan.

    I love those Notes from the Universe — so encouraging and inspiring.

    Happy 2010, dear Kristie and thank you again for being my friend. You know I love you dearly.

  2. Happy New Year, girlfriend!
    I have an aversion to resolutions because I find it hard to continue, after the first few months, to pursue them (like many people), but yours are laudable, and I wish you all the best. I will be there as your fan, to cheer your performances on. While I would so love to do the guitar playing course, I will feel fortunate to get a real start on my guitar (and your uke) MAKING in 2010. If I made one resolution, that would be mine. Looking forward to another year of Friday and Sunday nights with my Cunningham peeps here in lovely Tucson AZ! Love ya, B

  3. Happy 2010! (bom-bom-bom-bom-bom baa-BAAAAAA!) Where are all the jet packs, flying cars, and inter-planetary colonies? I want the obelisk I was promised as a child!

    I feel you on #2. I bet if you buy a new camera you would take a bazillion new pictures! (See, I just gave you justification to buy a new toy.)

    If you need any help on #5, call me. That thing is too adorable.

  4. im thinking they might change their minds again when they get caught up in july in arizona. i can just imagine your mom saying, “eff this noise.”

Your thoughts?

