Posted in Commentary

Hot summer nights

M_SachaBaronCohen

The other night I made my way out to the studio where Scott was painting minis to eat cookies, drink milk, and read an old Rolling Stone Shenry sent me months ago. I’d read the article on Neko Case, the reason he sent it, long ago; I just hadn’t read the rest yet.

I’m paging through, reading various things to him, and then I get to a page with semi-candid photos from some event, and I stop to inform Scott of this very important information:

“I think Sacha Baron Cohen is totally hot.”

Scott’s mouth said, “Seriously?” but his eyes said, “Oh my god, I married a crazy woman!”

“Not as Borat or anything…just as himself,” I qualified.

“Hot? Really?”

“Totally,” I said, turning the magazine around and pointing to the picture of SBC chatting up Madonna so he could see it. “Look at this. He’s totally my type.” I get, like, all Valley Girl, when I’m talking about my movie crushes. Totally.

And he is. I like the dark, dark, and handsome guys, the ones who have 5 o’clock shadow at 10 a.m. I like my men like I like my chocolate: Dark, rich, and filled with magnesium.

“He is not hot,” said my beloved. “And let us never speak of it again,” he concluded as he went back to his painting.

Which meant, of course, that I had to speak of it several more times. Scotty likes to make pronouncements. I like to ignore pronouncements. This is why our relationship works so well, so symbiotically.

So, Sacha Baron Cohen: Hot or not? (Totally hot, but don’t let me influence you.) And who are your movie crushes?

sacha baron cohen 190107

Author:

I've been doing some form of creative writing since 9th grade, and have been a blogger since 2003. Like most bloggers, I've quit blogging multiple times. But the words always come back, asking to be written down, and they pester me if I don't. So here we are. Thanks for reading.

2 thoughts on “Hot summer nights

  1. I agree this guy is hot. But here’s the thing, other than your name, Scott’s and our buddy Shenry, none of the names you mentioned are recognizable to me. I’m soooo out of the loop. I really need to hang out with all three of you more. But there is a movie actor whose image makes my heart palpitate, Sean Connery–but only in his earlier Bond movies.

Your thoughts?

