Posted in Commentary

Come and see the violence

Well, it finally happened. The ignorance, stupidity, and just plain meanness of the world hit me so hard Wednesday that it completely shut my brain down in a barely sputtering paralysis. The last (but not the only) straw? I was reading the stories about “tea party” tax protests.

My brain went into overload: Which to respond to? Their appalling ignorance of American history? Their appalling ignorance of their current tax status? Their appalling ignorance of the fact that things cost money? Their goofy hats? Their smug self-assurance of their own cleverness? Their myopic selfishness? Their selfish myopia?

GAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAH!!

I could feel my stomach clenching in anger like a fist. There was just so much wrongness! How much can one intelligent, informed person take???

No más, apparently, because my cerebral cortex shut down all conscious consideration. I was rendered speechless. Which, if you know me, is unusual.

All I could hear was a barely articulate shouting from my brainstem that said “Kill them! Kill them all!”

So while I attempt to recover from this particularly virulent bout of misanthropy and/or contact my real estate agent about that desert island of my fondest dreams, please enjoy this, my favorite bit of political commentary ever.

Author:

I've been doing some form of creative writing since 9th grade, and have been a blogger since 2003. Like most bloggers, I've quit blogging multiple times. But the words always come back, asking to be written down, and they pester me if I don't. So here we are. Thanks for reading.

One thought on “Come and see the violence

  1. The only way I can think of to combat nimbyism is to allow them to secede. We have had this problem especially when it comes to wind farms here, people thinking that it’s too much of an eyesore on their part of the countryside – my view is that government should make all districts responsible for their own power production then see whether faced with not having their TV they think a wind farm is a good idea or they’d rather a nuclear power station.

    Large centralised government is always going to be prone to these sorts of problems, the US has a horrible mish-mash of conglomerate national and state government which is unwieldy and simply cannot meet the needs or the expectations of local spending requirements. It’s needs to be broken up. That way you might be able to get people interested in politics again because at a local level the individual input of people can make far more of a difference if the structures are there.

Your thoughts?

