Posted in Commentary, Growing up/old

Old Home Week

Happy Friday the 13th! As you read this, I am far, far away from my computer, which may well be crying for loneliness without me, as the dogs hardly ever check their e-mail. We’re in Lincoln, Nebraska, for Scott’s 20-year high school reunion. He went to Lincoln Southeast; I went to Lincoln East. (Nebraskans are simple, straightforward folk—no need getting fancy with the school names.) I didn’t bring the laptop at all, which may result in a nasty case of DTs, but the way the shoulder connected to my clicking hand has been tormenting me lately, I think it’s for the best. I brought books, and we’re staying in a nice B&B that is not far from our college apartments, so “not far” that we probably walked past it a hundred times back in the day, so I will cast myself back to 1994, back before I’d ever sent an e-mail, before I ever heard of blogs, before I spent 10 hours a day on the computer, and I’m sure it’ll be good for me. And my shoulder.

I dated someone from Southeast for about a month my senior year, but it wasn’t Scott—he’d already graduated 2 years before. His cousin sat in front of me in Modern U.S. History, though I didn’t know it until later. She married a guy in my class. They are the only people from my high school I have any contact with, and it’s only because we’re related by marriage. And I student-taught at Southeast, with his favorite English teacher. Our paths crossed so many times before we met, that when we finally did, it seemed like destiny.

I haven’t been back to Lincoln in almost 10 years; Scott has been back more recently, though the occasions were sad ones. We plan to visit with his old friends, his family, and hit all our favorite restaurants. We are in desperate need of a good Nebraska steak; the cows here live on prickly pear, and it’s just not the same.

It should be interesting, and I’m ready to get out of town; this is our only summer vacation. I’ve been promised dancing Saturday night, which is something we do with about the regularity of Halley’s comet; I even bought a new dress for the event, being held at the UNL Wick Alumni Center, where we were married. Bought a new dress that time, too. Something about that place makes me go shopping…

Before I left, however, Phaedrous tagged me with a meme, and as everyone knows, I have never met a meme I didn’t like, or do. It’s similar, but not identical, to one I did recently; however, I have endeavored to tell you new trivia about myself, so it shouldn’t be a rerun. Enjoy, and I’ll catch you when I return from the nation’s heartland. Go Huskers!

1. What was I doing ten years ago?

10 years ago right now, I was sweating the fact that I didn’t have a job for the fall yet, and the summer was slipping away fast. I’d been to Arizona and had had several good interviews, and 3 different principals in the same district up Phoenix way were nigh on arm-wrestling for me, but not one of them could get off the dime and offer me a job. I was starting to panic. Then a district in Tucson called and offered me a one-year job for a teacher on maternity leave, and I took it. The next day one of the arm-wrestlers called, and I told them I’d already accepted a job. They couldn’t believe I hadn’t waited a little longer for them (it’d been 3 weeks). It was June; I was a teacher. How long was I supposed to wait? I suppose I could’ve bailed on it, but I was young and naive and felt honor-bound to follow through with my commitment to them. Once I had the job, there was still the little matter of a house to sell and a cross-country move to make. That house didn’t sell until December of that year, and we blew our Minnesota state retirement making a house payment and rent simultaneously until it did. As it turned out, we firmly believe we’re a lot happier here in Tucson than we ever would’ve been in Phoenix.

2. What are five things on my list to do today?

1. Enjoy a lovely breakfast I neither have to make or clean up after at the B&B.
2. Sweat. A lot. It’s Lincoln, in June. There’s no avoiding it.
3. Shower at least 3 times (see #2)
4. Eat a Runza.
5. Think of the cubicle I am not sitting in, and remind myself how much I love being on vacation

3. Snacks I enjoy?

I have met very few snacks that I DON’T enjoy. I love white cheddar popcorn, Oreos, and really good watermelon. I’m exceedingly picky about my summer fruit.

4. Things I Would Do If I Were A Billionaire?

I’d buy that Taylor acoustic I touched once and never forgot. And the Rickenbacker 360-12, so I can pretend to be Roger McGuinn. I would get my family and friends settled and debt-free. I’d start a charitable foundation with very focused goals of direct assistance instead of lobbying and information campaigns; that kind of philanthropy leaves me cold.

5. Three of my bad habits

-I dick around on the internets long after I’ve run out of things to read, research, or do. It’s a major time- suck.
-I interrupt when others are talking.
-I feed the dogs cheese, even though Scott tells me not to.

6. Five places I have lived?

South Bend, Indiana; Superior, Wisconsin; Escanaba, Michigan; Buffalo, Minnesota; and Lincoln, Nebraska.

7. Five jobs I’ve had?

bakery clerk, deli clerk, teacher, editor for the Fingerhut customer service training manual, QA diva (that’s my current gig)

8. How did you name your blog?

I used to blog pert near every day, and did so for just over 3 years. I could’ve written several books, if I didn’t have the attention span of a raccoon in a tinsel factory; I can’t focus that long on one story. But the bottom (of everything, including blogging) kind of fell out when Antiguo died. I tried to keep it up, but in the end, I just had to step back from it all and regroup. I didn’t want to try to keep up a daily pace anymore; it was just too much for me. After a tactical retreat, I realized I missed blogging, so I decided I could do a weekly post (which, in all fairness, still makes me a more prolific blogger than half my regular reads). I decided Fridays would be the day I’d post, and I’m an alliteration junkie. So “Fresh on Fridays” was born. Thanks for reading it; I appreciate it more than you know.

Author:

I've been doing some form of creative writing since 9th grade, and have been a blogger since 2003. Like most bloggers, I've quit blogging multiple times. But the words always come back, asking to be written down, and they pester me if I don't. So here we are. Thanks for reading.

2 thoughts on “Old Home Week

  1. I hope your reunion vacation is a blast! Dancing, oh what fun–Dub and I love going out dancing. I’ve only been to one of my reunions which turned out horrid because I’d only attended that high school for 2 1/2 months at the end of my senior year. Hard to suddenly pop in at the end of high school in N.C. having just moved from Okinawa and expect to reminisce at future reunions. But I tried and was greeted at the door by a girl with whom I’d actually been friends in that short amount of time. She promptly informed me that she’d married my old boyfriend (I worked really fast in those short months) and to stay away from him. As this was her fourth marriage, I wasn’t all that impressed. Anyway, she was one of the popular girls (four marriages, you figure it out) and the whole group shunned me the rest of the night as though I had the plague and planned to descend upon their men. Geez, I was always so shy in high school that I still cannot figure out their animosity. Anyway. I’ve opted never to attend another of their events again. Moving on…fun meme and I’m very picky about my summer fruits, too.

  2. OMG! the attention span of a racoon in a tinsel factory? That is such an amazing visual that Pammy almost had to do the heimlich maneuver!!!! Have a blast in Nebraska…say hi to Pam’s mom and dad as you pass eachother.

Your thoughts?

