Posted in Memes & Miscellanea

How a meme saved me from despair

I had been debating what to post about this week? Josef Fritzl? No—too depressing. The amount of time, energy, and American dollars I have spent on pressing home improvement projects in the last 2 months? No—too depressing. Self-appointed “woman of the people” Hillary Clinton? No—way too depressing.

Then my bro Ghost tagged me for a meme. Lo! Unto me a blogging savior came, and for that I shall refer to him as the Holy Ghost until such time as I get bored with it. The meme is 6 random facts about me, which I think I’ve done a hundred times, and at least 2 times before now in this space, here and here. Then I’m supposed to tag 6 other people, who will all do this meme as well, and link back to me letting me know they’ve accomplished their mission in actuality, not in Bush’s definition.

Random Factoid #1: I only comply with the rules when I feel like it, and I will not tag 6 people to do this meme. Do this meme if you feel so moved; if not, no skin off my nose.

Random Factoid #2: I am extremely allergic to cats, but only since early adolescence. Prior to that, we had cats at home for years, and I never had a problem.

Random Factoid #3: I have been doing so much “retail therapy” lately that I may need real therapy to stop. But I’ve gotten some great dresses!

Random Factoid #4: I paint my toenails regularly, but fingernails only very rarely. Those I keep very short, anyway, for playing guitar.

Random Factoid #5: Merryweather is my favorite fairy from Sleeping Beauty. She’s the blue one, and you may recall she was sassy and had mind of her own. I bet she was everyone’s favorite. As it turns out, she was voiced by Antiguo’s aunt, who was also the voice of Lady in Lady and the Tramp.

Random Factoid #6: I’m going to the eye doctor tomorrow so I can get new glasses. Despite the fact that I have been legally blind in my left eye for 35 years, and despite the fact that I tell every single eye doctor I’ve ever seen that there’s no point in doing the eye chart test with that eye because I won’t be able to read it, every single eye doctor I’ve seen has said “Just try it,” as if he (it’s always a he) expects a miracle to happen right then and there. Or maybe he thinks that he will be the one to “cure” me. $10 says the doc tomorrow will, too. I’ll let you know.

Author:

I've been doing some form of creative writing since 9th grade, and have been a blogger since 2003. Like most bloggers, I've quit blogging multiple times. But the words always come back, asking to be written down, and they pester me if I don't. So here we are. Thanks for reading.

4 thoughts on “How a meme saved me from despair

  1. i knew you had done this one before but i tagged you anyway because im far from holy and consider it part of my job to irritate you from time to time on behalf of…well…just because.

  2. I don’t know Ghost but I like him based on his music (CD swap) as well as the comments he leaves you.

    I am ever so impressed that you can paint your own toenails. My flexibility has declined to the point where I can’t do that.

    Retail therapy–and you didn’t call me. For shame! I would have loved to help. Seriously, I know what you mean about house stuff. In the last couple of weeks we’ve had to replace the microwave, gas range, and the damn dishwasher. I’m thinking about replacing me next.

Your thoughts?

