Posted in Desert Life

Cribs

December is review time at my company, and this past December when I sat down with my boss, he asked if I had any issues I wanted to talk about. I was hoping he’d ask, because as a matter of fact, I did. I told him frankly that sitting at my desk was quite literally crippling me. There were the wrist problems, and a continually increasing shoulder problem as the result of having my hand on the mouse all day, even though it was a really groovy ergonomic joystick mouse. And then I asked him how open the company was to alternate seating/décor. He asked me what I had in mind, and I gave him a couple options.

A little more discussion, a little time, and he showed up in my cubicle to tell me I was free to do whatever I needed to do, and there was no managerial preference as to which of the options I chose.

That was a good day. It was the day that made this possible:

The throne, with tunes

I ended up ordering another Yogipoof, to recreate at work the very same set-up I had created at home to excellent ergonomic effect. (As a matter of fact, we’re considering getting a few more for living room seating. I’m obsessed. But they are sooooo comfy.) My company got me a laptop to use, and now I sit on my beanbag all day, to the envy (or amusement, or both) of all who pass my cubicle. They may laugh all they wish; I’m not seeing my chiropractor weekly anymore.

And it’s not like my cubicle was in any danger of being “deprofessionalized” by the addition of a large orange beanbag. That ship that has long since sailed.

The work setup

B-board and photo gallery

Desk/toy storage

Dilbert stress-squisher toys and Karl the pencil monkey

P4230010

This is my view from my beanbag.

My view

When the programmer in that office leaves his door (and window shade) open, I can see a grove of palo verdes and various birds out the window. That grove is shelter to lizards, ground squirrels, occasionally javelinas, and supposedly a bobcat, though I’ve not seen it. I have seen a coyote walk out of the wash just beyond the trees through our parking lot, and stand waiting to cross the road (one of the busiest in town). They’re smart, those coyotes.

I need a lot of visual stimulation and whimsy; when I taught, my classroom looked much like this, too, only it was spread out over greater square footage. There were also fewer toys, because I learned the hard way that they had a tendency to go missing and/or be destroyed. I can’t do plain beige; plain beige is a soul-killer. It is safe to say that no other cubicle in the building is quite like mine; I can tell because when strangers who are receiving a tour of our otherwise classily appointed building come upon my little corner, they are visibly surprised. But they usually smile; I dig that.

But I LOVE my beanbag-at-work setup. I don’t think I could ever go back to sitting at a desk. In fact, I think everyone should have a Yogipoof at work. But I’m the only one I know who does.

Neener.

Author:

I've been doing some form of creative writing since 9th grade, and have been a blogger since 2003. Like most bloggers, I've quit blogging multiple times. But the words always come back, asking to be written down, and they pester me if I don't. So here we are. Thanks for reading.

7 thoughts on “Cribs

  1. Wow, Kristie! I love your office space and new Yogipoof. How great they’ve given you license to fix things to lessen the negative impact on your body but also feed your spirt. This is the kind of space that would free the imagination and foster creative problem-solving. I am so tickled for you!

  2. our work spaces look alot alike, cept that i have no pretense at prfessionalism. i should snap a shopt of mine. i do envy the bean bag though. you rock out loud, sis.

Your thoughts?

