Posted in Growing up/old, Lessons Learned

The eye of the storm

There is a riot in my head, of a hundred things that make up “My Life Today.” But there is a hush in my heart that resists putting voice to any of them, and seems to be encouraging me to just be with them instead of reporting them. I think I’m going to have to honor that. If I were meant to speak, the blog post I’ve been trying to write all week would be written, and you’d be reading it right now instead of this.  But it seems it is time for me to listen.

 Simplicity

In a simple moment,
when clarity comes like warm sun through a forgotten corner window,
when the tired heart becomes infinite
when the frantic mind becomes infinite
when the conversation between the two becomes
infinite,
when the soul speaks and the mind does not interrupt,
a simple choice: To listen or to ignore.
Listen to the whispered intelligence of our unuttered knowing or
drown out that voice in a riot of desperate sound and futile busyness.
They lied: Opportunity actually knocks every day, over and over.
Dreams, even the hushed ones, are persistent like family,
insistent like fire, resistant to inattention.
A simple choice, the way that love is simple;
the way that fear is simple, the way that hope is simple,
the way that war is simple.
Simple. Not easy.

19 Aug 2002

 

 

Author:

I've been doing some form of creative writing since 9th grade, and have been a blogger since 2003. Like most bloggers, I've quit blogging multiple times. But the words always come back, asking to be written down, and they pester me if I don't. So here we are. Thanks for reading.