Posted in Creations

The “It’s A Very Shenry Xmas” Memorial CD Swap. Yo-ho-ho!

xmaspirate.jpg

I have been in the blogosphere, at no less than 4 different addresses, for almost 4 years, which is a very long time to blog, though I was not among the blogging vanguard. The first I’d ever heard of a blog was in 2001 from a friend named James, who told me he had one. “What’s a blog?” I asked. He said it was a journal on the internet. “Why on earth would anyone ever put their journal on the internet???” I asked.

Yeah. I know.

Anyway, when you’ve been blogging awhile, you see people come and go, and this spring one of my favorites went: the inimitable and admirable Shenry, who is not only a great writer, but he is a friend and a brother to me, and is the only person alive who appreciates my bathroom humor with the level of esteem it deserves. He has many other fine qualities, but I’d hate to embarrass him by enumerating them here. I can assure you, though, that he’s awesome like 50,000 hot dogs.

It was Shenry who, almost 4 years ago, concocted a beautiful scheme: a Christmastime mix CD swap. The “It’s A Very Shenry Christmas” CD Swap was something that I looked forward to every year, and I discovered all kinds of new music from people I knew only through the blogosphere, and it was a very groovy, very giving, very seasonal thing to do. Without the swap, I would’ve never heard of Southern Culture on the Skids, and I would be a sorrier human being for the omission.

I am not ashamed to admit that I was a little bummed we’d not be having a swap this year, what with Shenry’s exit from the blogosphere. So I floated the idea past my brother Shenry of doing one anyway. He is all for it, despite the fact that he still hasn’t listened to the music I gave him back in July. A music junkie is a music junkie, and the fact that some of us have music in our collections we’re not even aware we have is merely a sign that life is good.

And so this post serves as your official and enthusiastic invitation to participate in the IAVSX Memorial CD Swap. I hope those of you who have done it in the past will participate again this year, and I hope those of you who have not might be enticed to participate. Here are the rules, to help you decide if you want to be there or be square.

  1. Wannabe participants will indicate their interest by e-mailing me at kristiesgu@gmail.com or leaving a comment to that effect on this here post. Comments have been enabled so you can. In past swaps, only regular readers were invited to participate, and lurkers on a case-by-case basis. That presents a problem, because everyone here is pretty much a lurker, as I normally have comments disabled. On the other hand, I know who most of you are, so will not be surprised if you sign on for this project. However, on my left foot, there are a fair number of true lurkers who read me regularly (thanks you!) but whom I don’t know and do not recognize by IP address. So if you’re one of those lurkers, but would like to participate, I’d appreciate it if you uncloak via e-mail and we’ll talk about it. If you don’t seem like an axe murderer, you’re in. If the list gets too long, I will have to make unpleasant executive decisions, it’ll be just like high school play tryouts, and someone will end up crying—probably me—so don’t be telling all your friends. This is just us. I know I have maybe 15 total readers, max, and I don’t think we’ve ever had to send out more than 10 CDs, and I think last year was just 6, just to give you an idea of what kind of numbers we’re talking about.
  2. If you are participating, I will need to know by Friday, November 23rd, 2007. That’s the Friday after Thanksgiving, and exactly one week from today. At that point I will need, via e-mail (you don’t wanna be putting that info in the comments for the whole world), your full name, mailing address, and blog/website URL (if applicable) if you have not already sent it to me. I will forward the master list to all participants that weekend. Participation in this event constitutes your solemn vow to treat that information as confidential, and if you want to go ahead and eat the e-mail after you’ve read it as a show of good faith, I heartily support that kind of commitment. Many of us blog under a nom de plume, and it is only right to respect that as we encounter each other on the internets.
  3. You will then create a glorious mix CD in AUDIO format (so it can be played in any normal player) on a theme of my choosing (TBA with the sending out of the master list), or a theme of your choosing, the tunes therein culled from your personal music collection. Alternate themes must be articulated, because I gave up figuring out themes when I graduated with my English degree, and because I said so. Muah-ha-ha-ha.
  4. You will send a copy of your mix CD to everyone on the master list (minus yourself) mentioned in #2 above, to arrive before Christmas. Everyone will send their mix to you, also to arrive before Christmas. And slackers will be shot. Please consider your time, geographical, and financial constraints during the holidays before you sign on. In the U.S., you can send a CD in a paper CD sleeve in a regular card envelope for 1 first-class letter stamp plus 1 postcard stamp. I think that’s $.65 these days, but don’t quote me on that. Naturally, it’s going to cost more to send CDs out of the country. (I don’t want finances to keep anyone from playing, though, so if postage is an issue for you, talk to me early—I have a plan B, and a plan C. Former Girl Scout, doncha know.) It’s no fun to send out 6 CDs and only get 1, so please be considerate of your fellow swappers who are awaiting your CD with bright eyes, rosy cheeks, and gleeful holiday anticipation, and don’t be lame.
  5. (Optional) It’s very cool if you post your CD’s song list and the reasons you chose them on your blog. Many of us find it enhances the enjoyment of the CD greatly, and lets us get to know each other a little better, so that next year, when we do this all again, no one even suspects you’re an axe murderer anymore.

This is my first time as official swap hostess, so I hope I didn’t forget anything. If I did, Shenry or Ghost or someone else will tell me. And then I’ll lie and say “Dude, I totally meant to do that!” But then I’ll fix it under cover of night and pretend it was fine all along. I do hope you’ll join me; sending CDs to myself is just sad.

Author:

I've been doing some form of creative writing since 9th grade, and have been a blogger since 2003. Like most bloggers, I've quit blogging multiple times. But the words always come back, asking to be written down, and they pester me if I don't. So here we are. Thanks for reading.

7 thoughts on “The “It’s A Very Shenry Xmas” Memorial CD Swap. Yo-ho-ho!

  1. As much as I would love to participate, sadly, I cannot. With a new baby on the way and chasing a 3 year old constantly, I’m afraid I may pull a no-show as I did in one of the previous swaps. All my best wishes for a wonderful swap goes out to all of the swappers.

  2. My rather eclectic CD is done and winging its merry little way to the swap participants. I’ve also posted my reason for each song choice on my blog (posted Dec. 5). Because I am anal-retentive (please note that I do indeed hypenated it which proves my point), I made an extra copy of the CD sans decorative bits in case the pretty one doesn’t work. A merry musical Christmas to all!

  3. Yes, but I’m so proud of you for only putting the CDs in the package. You met the challenge! 🙂 It’s a great CD; I listened at work today. Thanks for playing with us!

Your thoughts?

